St. Mullins is a picturesque rural community in South Carlow, nestling between the Blackstairs Mountains and Brandon Hill, on the banks of the river Barrow. The area gets its name from St. Moling (614-696). The townland has physical remains from many of the significant periods in Irish history - an early Christian period monastic settlement, a Norman Motte and Bailey, a large graveyard with many insurgents from the 1798 Rebellion buried within, nineteenth century flour and woollen mills, landscape with a long farming tradition, and the river with its history in both fishing and canal boat transportation. The award-winning Muintir na Tíre Heritage Centre is located in a former Church of Ireland church built in 1811. Between January and May 2010, the fourth year studio at the School of Architecture at UCD designed and built a new exhibition to tell the townland's story and display the Centre's collection of artifacts. The Heritage Centre was officially re-opened on May 22nd, 2010.
Tourist and Visitors
Opening TimesTuesdays and Wednesdays 9.30am to 5.00pm and Sundays 2.00pm to 5.00pm
- 087 9977090
St Mullins Co Carlow